16th Parliament of Samoa Dissolved Ahead of April General Election

Samoa Head of State, Tuimaleali’ifano Va’aletoa Sualauvi II was present for the final ceremony for the  Dissolution of the 16th Parliament of the Independent state of Samoa this morning and closed its final sitting to mark the end of the 5-year term before general elections set for next month to be held on April 9.

200 candidates will run for one of the 49 seats in the Samoa Fono. Five parties will contest the elections, the Human Rights Protection Party, Tautua Samoa Party, Samoa First Party, Samoa National Democratic Party and Tumua ma Puleono. Caretaker Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi who is the longest serving head of  Samoa government will run for a record fifth election.